Oddly enough (or not), the first thing many people panic about when they learn they can no longer have gluten is not being able to drink alcohol. Now, of course, there are alcohol beverages which are naturally gluten-free, like Tequila (made from agave), Vodka (made from potatoes), and Wine (made from fruit). Now, these are LOGICAL conclusions, but there are of course manufacturers out there who may add gluten to these to make the processing more cost-effective. So it is always important to check the labels. You can find a pretty comprehensive list of gluten-free alcohol, including specific brands, at urban tastebud.
It was interesting to see a few different alcoholic beverage choices at the Gluten Free and Allergy Friendly Expo. It hadn’t occurred to me since I’m also allergic to alcohol. Now, what I found most curious about these beverages is that they don’t claim to be gluten-free, they list themselves as “crafted to remove gluten.” What the heck does that mean, we ask? Continue reading