Dr. Praeger’s Gluten-Free Broccoli Cakes

broccoli-cakesIf you’re having a hard time getting someone you know (not me, of course … riiiiiight) to eat their vegetables, here’s the cure.

Going in I thought they might be a little light on flavor, so I was standing by with some Litehouse OPA Bleu Cheese dressing, but these little cakes are robust enough on their own. I wasn’t expecting them to be as hearty as they are, either, as they were a bit smaller than I expected.

As I ate them (2 cakes per serving per the packaging), the pepper started to build up in my mouth, eventually burning my tongue. Of course, you normal people won’t have a problem with it. I started out eating with a fork, but they are sturdy enough that you can just eat them with your hand, like an English muffin.

INGREDIENTS: broccoli, potatoes, onions, expeller pressed canola oil, oat bran, potato flakes, egg whites, arrowroot powder, sea salt, garlic, black pepper.

STATS: 130 calories, 6g fat, 0 cholesterol, 16g carbs, 3g dietary fiber, 4g protein.

I baked these in my toaster oven, the manufacturer’s preferred method, and I did have to cook them a few minutes longer than they advise. But they came out dry and a little crisp on the outside, and moist and hot on the inside. Great combination.

Since these come individually wrapped, I think next time I will make just one and have it instead of toast with scrambled eggs. I think the flavors will complement each other well. For more info: drPraegers.com

broccoli-cakes-2

Leave a Reply

