daiya Mushroom & Roasted Garlic Gluten- & Dairy-Free Pizza

daiya-pizza-cooked

After cooking for 15 minutes in a 475 oven.

After tasting the cheese quesadillas daiya offered at the Gluten-free and Allergy Friendly Expo, I had high hopes for their pizza. So, I went out and purchased a Mushroom & Roasted Garlic “with gourmet ingredients” gluten-free pizza. Now, I’m a big fan of dairy, but I have some friends who aren’t, so I figured I’d give this a try to see if it was any good.

At $7.50 for a pizza that, in my humble opinion, offers two servings (they say three on the package, but I beg to differ), I can’t recommend this to people who CAN eat dairy. If you don’t have a dairy restriction, I highly recommend the Sabatasso’s Pizza from Costco. If you don’t have a Costco membership, then I recommend the Freschetta’s Gluten-Free, which you should be able to find anywhere. Trust me, I’ve tried a lot of gluten-free pizza.

So, why do I say this?

 

#1 – the crust is meh. A little thicker than I’d like, and it sticks to your teeth.
#2 – the sauce is not that flavorful.
#3 – not enough mushrooms, and not enough garlic. The few bites of garlic I got were indeed excellent, but they were few and far between.
#4 – the cheese was not gooey like it shows on the packaging. It maintained the shredded shapes it was frozen in.
#5 – the flavor of the cheese was a little more on the cheddar side than I think pizza should be.
#6 – the method of cooking: they want you to put the pizza directly on the rack, and the toppings and sauce go straight to the edge, just begging to melt over the side and mess up your oven. Not a fan of that. Now, I could have tried the Freschetta method of heating up the pan and then putting the daiya pizza on that, but I wanted to give this a fair shot.
#7 – it just wasn’t satisfying.

Now, all that being said, if you are dairy free and can’t have ANY pizza, you might want to give this a try. Don’t worry, you won’t have to pay full price – I have a couple of $1 off coupons available just for you! Just leave a comment below and at the end of November, when I tally up all the freebies, I’ll put it in the mail to you. (US addresses only, please.)

daiya-pizza-raw

Uncooked. Hard to tell the difference, yes?

Leave a Reply

