Betty Lou’s Energy Balls

img_20161115_161246083-nuts-over-chocolate-energy-ballI’m becoming an enormous fan of Betty Lou’s. Her energy balls are just great. I’ve tried three different flavors so far:  Paleo Java with cacao, coffee and pumpkin seeds, Coconut Macadamia, and the Vegan Protein Plus Chocolate Hazelnut. I have also had something which now confuses me since I can’t find it in the store again; it was like an energy ball but it was filled with creamy hazelnut butter. That was TO DIE FOR. I looked for it again in the store tonight, but unfortunately couldn’t find it. The Sprouts I shop at is a little smaller than some of the others I’ve been to, where I found that absolutely delicious piece of chocolatey heaven.

Okay, enough drooling. Here is my take on the three I tried this week:

More like a healthy candy bar than anything else, the Paleo Java with cacao, coffee and pumpkin seeds is a fine balance between dark chocolate and coffee flavor, achieving nearly umami status. The different textures – the crunchy cacao nibs and the smooth, chewy insides – make this a very pleasing experience.

The Protein Plus Coconut Macadamia is thick and chewy and tastes a little more like a sports nutrition bar than the other flavors I’ve tried. It’s got a wonderful, coconut aroma, but that doesn’t translate as much into the flavor which, to me, was more like peanut than cashew or macadamia. While this was good, I prefer the chocolate flavors more.

I’m a meatatarian (since I’m allergic to pretty much everything else, including salicylates), so I was skeptical about the Vegan Protein Plus. But, I will say, it was like a soft-baked cookie, rolled in nuts, and went very nicely with a cup of ice coffee for an in-between meal snack. It’s not really sweet like Betty Lou’s Angell bars – it’s a bit subdued with its pleasant cocoa flavor.

Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for: the free stuff. I’ve got four different Energy Balls up for grabs: Protein Plus Almond Butter, Protein Plus Peanut Butter, Vegan Spirulina Ginseng, and Vegan Chili Chocolate. Leave a comment below letting me know which flavor interests you and I’ll put you in the drawing to win them. All items will be shipped at the end of the month. Domestic USA only, please. Sorry rest of the world!

img_20161115_163008455_hdr-betty-lou-energy-balls

Win one of these – just leave a comment!

With fourteen different flavors to try, you should really check out the page on Energy Balls here.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

 

4 thoughts on “Betty Lou’s Energy Balls

  1. Pingback: Free Gluten-Free Sample Extravaganza | Gluten-Free Gusto Blog

Leave a Reply

