Ian’s Fish Sticks

148 ians fish sticksThese fish sticks are sort of a conundrum. I’m not quite sure how I feel about them. You could easily eat them as finger food, because they are not all greasy and nasty. Dip them in tartar sauce or cocktail sauce, whatever. They have good flavor – there’s no nasty fish taste. They have the flavor of a good fish stick.

It’s the consistency that perplexes me. The fish is fine – very nice, actually – I’m referring to the crust. Clearly, the crust is made mostly of corn meal. It’s pleasantly crispy, but a little thick and difficult to get a fork through. Hence being perfect for finger food.

I cooked these at the maximum (400 degrees for 15 minutes, flip the sticks, then another 10 minutes) and they did not brown, not unlike many gluten-free foods. So don’t judge their doneness by their brownness. They looked just as yellow when they came out of the oven as when they went in.

These Ian’s Fish Sticks are wheat- and gluten-free, milk- and casein-free, egg-free, nut-free, and soy-free. The crust/breading is made solely with corn and seasonings. If you have a corn allergy, sorry.

My box came with 13 fish sticks. The nutrition facts claim the serving size is 6 sticks and there are 2.5 servings per container. Obviously 13 sticks does not give you 2.5 servings. Just be aware. It’s not a big deal.

This 8 ounce box is normally $6.99 but I got it on sale at my local Safeway for $4.99. 2 servings for that price – you be the judge. They were definitely a nice change of pace.

2 thoughts on “Ian’s Fish Sticks

  1. These look like they would be pretty good. If you are like me, and used to cooking fresh fish like trout when I was growing up, they were breaded in yellow cornmeal. Of course, cooking trout in a frying pan,they’d get brown somewhat, so I wonder can you fry these to get the brown look/feel to them?

    Like

    • I’m not sure if that’s possible. I no longer have the box, so I can’t see what other cooking methods they offer up. The breading is pretty thick. I’ve had better results crushing plain Chex, mixing that with a little bit of rice flour (or not) and using that to bread fish before pan frying.

      Like

Leave a Reply

