Creamy Polenta & Vegetable Medley

IMG_4360 creamy polentaThis dish by Eating Right is described in small type on the package as creamy polenta and vegetable blend topped with Marsala sauce. Honestly, I’m not sure how I feel about this. The first time I tried it, I assumed by the photo on the package front – which is loaded with diced tomatoes and sprinkled with melty cheese – that it was going to taste like tomato sauce. But instead I got the Marsala sauce, which has a little sweetness to it that just doesn’t seem right with this dish. I thought maybe that since I was expecting one thing but got something else, that might have been my issue with this.

So, I tried it again. This time I added some cooked, cubed chicken for a little more protein. I feel the same way about it. I really think it would be better with tomato sauce (and I’m not a big tomato fan) than with the Marsala. Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t taste badly at all, there’s just a disconnect in the flavors, in my humble opinion. And I don’t get the “creamy” in the name – do they mean the polenta is creamy? I dunno.

For $2.99 (at Safeway), 330 calories, 18 grams of fat, and 8 grams of protein…. If I want comfort food, I’d rather go with the Homestyle Chicken & Rice Pasta, which is lower in fat and higher in protein.

Recommended? Eh. I dunno. I won’t be buying it again.

One thought on “Creamy Polenta & Vegetable Medley

Leave a Reply

