Wolfgang Puck Free Range Chicken Soup

IMG_5659 wolfgang puck compWhen I feel crummy, I want chicken soup. Of course, when I feel crummy, that’s when I don’t feel like making chicken soup. Who wants to go to all that trouble? You? Then send me some chicken soup, will you? (I will say, last time I was ill, a dear, sweet friend made me some turkey soup. All hail turkey-soup-making friends!)

This time, I was prepared. At least I hoped I was. On a recent trip to Safeway trolling for gluten-free foods, I found Wolfgang Puck Free Range Chicken with White and Wild Rice Organic Soup on sale. So I got a can.

I will be completely honest. (What else is new?) When I opened this can, I almost hurled. It smelled TERRIBLE. If your stomach is at all off, I recommend you have someone else open the can. (Sorry, I just call ’em like I see ’em.)

I heated one can of soup in one bowl (see photo). It says on the can there is enough for 2 servings, but I beg to differ if you’re serving it as a meal. If you’re serving it as an appetizer, well, you can probably get away with that. I cooked it for 2-1/2 minutes on high as per the instructions. I recommend putting a plate underneath. It didn’t boil over, but there was a lot of  condensation under the microwave-safe cover.

IMG_5661 wolfgang puck compThe broth was not runny – it was a nice thickness for dipping toast or crackers (or in my case, 1/2 an Udi’s bagel). The texture of the rices was very good. The chicken chunks were a little tough, but not chewy or nasty. My sensitive palette would have liked just a tad less paprika, but for normal people, I’m sure it was fine.

Would I buy it again? I consider this one of those “break glass in case of emergency” foods, so yes. I have a container of Pacific Foods g/f chicken soup ready to try next. We’ll see who wins the spot on my lazy Susan.

Leave a Reply

