Gluten Free LUNA High Protein Bar

IMG_5664 luna bar compOne word: yuck. Sorry, LUNA, I am a supporter, but I couldn’t stand this.

The first thing that assaulted my senses was the taste/smell of alcohol on the very first bite. Then there was a weird saltiness. The only reason I was able to finish the bar was because I drowned it in Cool Whip (which I then proceeded to eat directly out of the container to get the LUNA taste out of my mouth. I’ll let you decide whether I’m joking about that or not).

The flavor was supposed to be Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. The only other two flavors available (in the store) contained peanut butter, and I’m not a fan of that. I’m also not a fan of soy-based protein, which is the foundation for this bar. It didn’t occur to me to check the ingredients in the store – I just saw GLUTEN FREE and the 99 cent special price and dove in. Yes, I’m a big dummy.

This LUNA bar is 170 calories, 6g of fat, 12g of protein, and contains decent amounts of calcium, Vitamin D, iron, and other stuff. Oddly, there was no chocolate liqueur which a lot of these bars use for flavor.

It turns out that they have a bunch of other flavors, too. You can check those out at http://www.lunabar.com/products/luna-protein  Maybe those flavors are better. I don’t know. I do know that I’m not going to find out.

IMG_5665 luna bar

One thought on “Gluten Free LUNA High Protein Bar

Leave a Reply

