G/F Mac & Cheese Steel Cage Match: SamMills Brand

gluten free mac and cheese IMG_1892

No one said there would be math.

At the WalMart store in Colville, Washington, there is an impressive selection of gluten-free foods in the freezer section – for a non-health food store, anyway. This is where I discovered SamMills the Corn Master’s Gluten Free Macaroni & Cheese In a creamy Cheddar Cheese Sauce.

At $2.97 for 8 ounces, vs. Amy’s at $3.58 for 9 ounces, it was worth trying. It is wheat free, soy free, egg free, tree nut free, peanut free, fish free, shellfish free, and gluten free. Phew!

While I was in the store, I glanced at the cooking instructions. “Cook on high for 3-1/2 minutes” in the microwave. Super easy. Sold.

Then I got it home and went to cook it. That was when I really read the instructions:

Gluten free mac and cheese IMG_1887

  • Cook on HIGH for 3-1/2 minutes
  • Remove film, stir well and cook thoroughly until internal temperature reaches 165 degrees F.

SAY WHAT? No one told me math would be involved. *Sigh*

Seriously, cooking to a certain temperature is my most hated thing. I take this stuff very seriously, and if I can’t get it up to temperature, am I supposed to throw it away? I mean…

Anyway, I finally got it to 165. That was kind of a pain. It didn’t look too bad. And, it had very good flavor. The pasta consistency was similar to slightly undercooked, but I like it that way. I’d much rather have pasta I can sink my teeth into than have mush. So, the SamMills Mac & Cheese was good, but the cooking part was a bit stressful for me and sort of lessened the enjoyment of the dish. For more on SamMills products, go to www.SamMills.eu.

Tune in next time for Amy’s Rice Mac & Cheese.

One thought on “G/F Mac & Cheese Steel Cage Match: SamMills Brand

Leave a Reply

