EATING RIGHT Ham & Cheese Scramble

ham cheese scramble IMG_9902Earlier this week, we wrote about the SMART ONES Cheesy Scramble with Hash Browns. Here is an alternative, brought to you by EATING RIGHT.

Let me start out by saying that nowhere does Eating Right claim that this is gluten-free. But if you look at the ingredients, you will notice wheat is not listed amongst the allergens at the end. Eggs, soy, and milk the only allergens listed. When you see modified corn starch specified and xanthan gum used – those are normally a good indication there will be no gluten. However, if it is not labeled as so, it is never guaranteed.

I got this “EATING RIGHT” breakfast on sale for around $2.00 at the local Safeway.

EATING RIGHT: 220 Calories, 7 grams of fat, 18 grams of protein, and 730 mg of sodium. A total of about 5.5 minutes cook time. Very easy.

Compared to:

SMART ONES: 210 Calories, 9 grams of fat, 15 grams of protein, and 510 mg of sodium. A total of 3 minutes cook time. Very easy.

Flavor? Pretty good. I was definitely happier with the non-red-pepper overpowering flavor. This was quite pleasant until I got to the end where I guess I had missed stirring during the cook time and all the black pepper had accumulated. Wow! Powerful stuff. So, I decided I would try another one, and be more careful about the stirring. Well, thorough stirring spread that black pepper throughout the dish. I will not be doing that again. I prefer crispy hash browns, and these were not, but they were good. The eggs had good flavor and consistency. The ham was a little dried out, but I like mine that way (since I don’t usually eat ham) so it didn’t bother me at all. The flavor was good as well.

All in all, if you’re starting out a busy day, need a decent protein-laden breakfast, and only have a few minutes – this is another way to go.

3 thoughts on “EATING RIGHT Ham & Cheese Scramble

Leave a Reply

