EATING RIGHT Gluten Free Homestyle Chicken & Rice Pasta

eating right chicken IMG_3866I do not like peas. I don’t. I’ll eat them, they don’t repulse me or anything, but I find the flavor tends to overpower dishes. So, I ate all the peas out of this first. (Or I tried to, anyway. There were a lot of them.) Problem solved.

So, peas must have been on sale that day because this was loaded with them. There was a generous amount of chicken, but I only saw a few mushrooms, a couple of carrots and one piece of celery. I’m a meatatarian, so that didn’t hurt my feelings any. By the way, the chicken was not overcooked at all. It was a little chewy, but not like pretend chicken nugget processed yuckiness – if you know what I mean. It’s definitely real chicken. The pasta was tender and al dente. Well done, Eating Right.

Despite all my whining and complaining, I really liked this. It has the rich, creamy flavor of a cream of mushroom soup casserole. It’s hearty, and it was hot as hell after cooking it for 6.5 minutes and then letting it sit for 2. I like my food hot, so that made me happy, too. For $2.67 on sale, I am very, very happy. (Normal price $2.99)

Now to the particulars:

340 Calories, 13 grams of fat, 75 mg cholesterol, 700 mg sodium, 36 grams carbs, 20 grams protein.

Okay, so maybe a little high on the fat and sodium, which is probably why it tastes good.

At that price, I’d do it again. Definitely recommended!

 

2 thoughts on “EATING RIGHT Gluten Free Homestyle Chicken & Rice Pasta

  1. Pingback: Creamy Polenta & Vegetable Medley | Gluten-Free Gusto Blog

Leave a Reply

