G/F Pizza Steel Cage Match: Udi’s Brand

Udi's Gluten Free Cheese PizzaIMG_1701I was so very excited when I saw pizza in the gluten-free freezer case at WalMart. Pizza is one of the foods I really do miss from my gluten-mongering days. So when I saw both Amy’s and Udi’s had gluten-free pizza available, I grabbed them. You can read my Amy’s review here.

A few comparison notes:

Amy’s pizza is about one dollar more than Udi’s. The calories, carbs, and protein are about the same. Amy’s pizza is 12 ounces and they expect you to get 3 servings out of it. Udi’s is 10 ounces and they divide that bad boy into two servings. All-in-all, very close.

Amy’s is non GMO and uses organic rice flour and tomatoes. It does contain soy.

Black Olive Pizza IMG_1704Of course, I couldn’t *just* make a cheese pizza. I doctored it up with some extra cheese and some black olives. Then in the oven it went.

Cook time was just a minute or so longer than what they had on the box.

Awesome. Delicious. Wonderful. Gluten-free pizza that does NOT taste gluten-free. The tomato sauce is just lovely and just the right amount. The light dusting of herbs adds a very pleasant flavor. The only problem I had with this pizza is that the cheese and sauce do tend to melt over the edges of the crust and drop down onto my precious blue oven. That’s a no-no. Since then, I’ve tried wrapping the edges in foil, or placing foil on a rack below, but that does prevent the crust from getting as crispy. If you’re not as anal about your oven – or your crust – as I am, you shouldn’t have an issue. (Okay, I’ll admit, in the pursuit of perfect crust and a clean oven, I tried cooking it on the “Convection Crisp” setting. Don’t do that. Seriously. Just don’t.)

This pizza is now my stand-by I’m too tired to make anything dinner/lunch. I always keep one or two in the freezer. And I always look forward to leftovers the next day, heated up in the toaster oven. Hot, crispy goodness, that is.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

You can always read more about Udi’s pizza at http://udisglutenfree.com/products/three-cheese-pizza/

Udi's Gluten Free Pizza IMG_1705

One thought on “G/F Pizza Steel Cage Match: Udi’s Brand

  1. Pingback: Freschetta Gluten Free Pizza | Gluten-Free Gusto Blog

Leave a Reply

