G/F Pizza Steel Cage Match: Amy’s Brand

Amy's Gluten Free Cheese Pizza IMG_0512I was so very excited when I saw pizza in the gluten-free freezer case at WalMart. Pizza is one of the foods I really do miss from my gluten-mongering days. So when I saw both Amy’s and Udi’s had gluten-free pizza available, I grabbed them.

A few comparison notes:

Amy’s pizza is about one dollar more than Udi’s. The calories, carbs, and protein are about the same. Amy’s pizza is 12 ounces and they expect you to get 3 servings out of it. Udi’s is 10 ounces and they divide that bad boy into two servings. All-in-all, very close.

Amy’s is non GMO and uses organic rice flour and tomatoes. It does contain soy.

Amy's Gluten-Free Cheese Pizza IMG_0516Of course, I couldn’t *just* make a cheese pizza. I doctored it up with some extra cheese and some black olives. Then in the oven it went.

Prep time was exactly what they had on the box.

I tried one slice with my extras and one slice plain. Oddly enough, the crust had an overwhelming taste and consistency of bean. Yes, I know, and I don’t understand it myself. The only thing I can figure is the organic sunflower seed meal overran my tastebuds. Please keep in mind, I do have a freakish sensitivity to certain acids, so normal people without this superpower may not even notice that flavor.

Even more odd – the pizza was MUCH better reheated the next day in the toaster oven. Overall, I was not really a big fan of this pizza.

Next up: Udi’s Brand.

Amy's Gluten-Free Cheese Pizza IMG_0523

6 thoughts on “G/F Pizza Steel Cage Match: Amy’s Brand

  1. I’m glad you are doing this blog for people who need to know the good things about gluten-free foods. Though I don’t know yet if that is my problem and need to be gluten free, I did take out some dairy products. I found I love Almond milk, vanilla and chocolate and so far it is working for me…I think. LOL>

    Like

  2. Good to know, Kat. I have found most of Amy’s GF products aren’t to my liking, so I tend to avoid them. Costco has a GF cheese pizza that I doctor up with stuff and even my gluten loving hubby likes it. The only downside is you have to have a membership to buy it, and some people don’t want to/can’t join.

    Thanks for doing the work for us 🙂 Looking forward to the Udi’s write up.

    Like

    • Costco is very good about gluten-free. A lot of their brands are and their rotisserie chicken is. Thanks for the heads up on their pizza. I’ll have to give that a try. *proud Costco member* LOL

      Like

  3. Pingback: Freschetta Gluten Free Pizza | Gluten-Free Gusto Blog

Leave a Reply

