Gluten-Free Goodies at Whole Earth Center

Date of Visit:  2-9-11
Whole Earth Center
360 Nassau Street
Princeton, NJ 08540
www.wholeearthcenter.com

Out of bread, snacks and patience during my cross-country adventure, my face became bright with hope as the Whole Earth Center on the eastern side of Princeton came into view. 

When I walked in, the store’s aromas soothed my mind, wooing me into a better mood.  An oasis of healthy living, its shelves loaded with organic goods, a deli offering gluten-free options, and an entire separate area dedicated to colorful produce from local growers.  As I had anticipated, the prices were a little higher than I was used to, but in the face of hunger, one has to make choices.

I chose a loaf of frozen bread for $7.19 and couldn’t resist the fresh-baked gluten-free cookies despite their $11/pound price.  Their assortment was excellent – at least 6 different flavors – and the homemade consistency and flavor were exceptional – worth every penny.  Even my non-gluten-free partner enjoyed them.

The staff was helpful and friendly, and the bathrooms were clean.

If you’re on the road and in need of something good to eat – stop in to the Whole Earth Center.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Goodies at Whole Earth Center

  1. Unfortunately their cookies (in the baked good case) are not gluten-free! They all say wheat-free but they are made with rye flour (or other ones) which has the ‘bad’ gluten that we are trying to avoid. I was so disappointed by this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

